Legal Support Services (LS2)

Practice Management Systems & Legal Process Outsourcing (LPO)
Home » Alimony » Different Types of Alimony (Florida)

Different Types of Alimony (Florida)

April 2nd, 2011 Posted in Alimony, Divorce
Fla. Stat. § 61.08 – Alimony.

As of July 1, 2010 the Florida Legislature made changes to the way Alimony (Fla. Stat. § 61.08 – Alimony) is calculated and awarded in the State of Florida.  These changes are only applicable to initial alimony awards ordered after July 1, 2010 and can not be used as a basis for modifying the type/length of alimony award orders granted prior to July 1, 2010.

In addition, the Florida Legislature created a new class of alimony called “Durational Alimony” bringing the total number of different types of alimony to six (6):

01 – Temporary Alimony – Fla. Stat. § 61.08
Awarded when one spouse in a marriage is unable to support themselves during the duration of the divorce proceedings.

02 – Bridge the Gap Alimony – Fla. Stat. § 61.08(5)
Used to assist a spouse with any legitimate, identifiable, short-term needs under circumstances where a lump sum amount is reasonable. This is to be used when one spouse is unable to provide for the essentials during the transition from married to single life.

03 – Lump Sum Alimony – Fla. Stat. § 61.08
Its sometimes referred to by divorce courts as alimony in gross. This type of alimony award is a fixed sum that is paid by one spouse to the other, often regardless of the circumstances of the divorce.

04 – Rehabilitative Alimony – Fla. Stat. § 61.08(6)(a)
The purpose is to help put the receiving spouse in a position to support themselves and provide the standard of living that was established during the course of marriage. In practice, this form or alimony often results in payments for educational expenses and vocational training.

05 – Durational Alimony – Fla. Stat. § 61.08(7)
The purpose of durational alimony is to provide a party with economic assistance for a set period of time following a marriage of short or moderate duration. An award of durational alimony terminates upon the death of either party or upon the remarriage of the party receiving alimony.

06 – Permanent Periodic Alimony – Fla. Stat. § 61.08(8)
Provides for life’s necessities, as established during the marriage. These payments continue until the death of either party or remarriage of the recipient. This is often applied to situations where one spouse did not work during a relatively long marriage in order to raise children or at the request of the other spouse.

Knowledge is Power.  So Stay Informed!

For all the up-to-date information and forms needed to represent yourself (pro se) in Florida and additional information on our Non-Lawyer Document Preparation Services please call us at +1.407.494.5094 or send us an email to  We are here to help!

This article is published for educational purposes only and must not be interpreted or used in any way as legal advice nor should it be used as a substitute for competent legal advice from a licensed Florida Family Law attorney.

Comments are closed